What Difference Does a Year Make?

Weekly article 12-30-2013

What difference does a year make? For me, 2013 was not the best friend I’ve ever had, but I’d like to call it a learning year.

Carolyn
Carolyn

The most memorable, yet heartbreaking lesson was January 3, 2013, when I visited my friend, Carolyn during her “bucket list” stay at Cheaha with her family. Carolyn had been battling cancer for three years, and she knew her time was near. We laughed and talked that night, and when the conversation turned serious, I was taken aback when she asked me to deliver her eulogy when the time came. Of course, I obliged, thinking that time would not come anytime soon. But I believe in my heart a person knows when their days are numbered, and in this case I would be right. Carolyn would pass within three weeks of this conversation. She and I weren’t lifelong best friends, but somehow we had managed to develop a strong bond over a short period of time. I miss her every day.

2013 had it good points though, like bringing two of my family members closer to home. My brother, Steven moved back here from Pennsylvania and my daughter, Ashley moved back to Clay County. It’s so good to know they are just right up the road when I get ready to visit my sweet grandchildren. My sister, Rhonda had a rough year and had to undergo two different surgeries, but she is on the mend now.

This last year was an emotional roller coaster for me, with bends, turns and dips in my path. I think it’s safe to say although I know this time was necessary, I won’t miss this year and I hope 2014 will be better to me. In fact, I’m going to make it happen. No more lying down on the job…it’s all or nothing from now on.

All in all, I can’t complain because I have it better than a lot of people, but sometimes it seems easier to dwell on the bad stuff. And believe me, I have wallowed enough for all of us. But I know there is a path for me and I am trying to find it. God does not shut one door without opening another, but that doesn’t mean He hands it to you on a silver platter, sometimes you have to work for it. And it’s not always easy to make out, sometimes it’s like finding the last missing piece of the puzzle. what-we-do-in-life-echoes-in-eternity-source

So, I will strive to find my place in life in the new coming year. To do the best I can do with the talents that God gave me. You see, God gives you these talents, but it’s up to you to develop them and learn how to use them for the benefit of others. And I believe you should always do your best to help others in need whenever possible.

Am I a Saint? No, not by any means…But I do believe in my heart that God is using me as a tool and I hope that 2014 will be the year I can make things happen. I hope all of you out there who are also trying to find your way can also find your path lit and don’t ever give up until you feel satisfied in your heart with what you are doing. That is my wish for you…

Joy
Joy, of Joy’s Journal facebook page lost her courageous battle on Dec. 10, 2013. Joy Elizabeth Nissa Kelly was born on October 2, 2012.She was born with a serious heart condition that required numerous surgeries. She also had Deletion 22q syndrome (aka DiGeorge Syndrome…She was only 14 months old.

So, what difference does a year make? Guess that’s a question only one person can answer, and the answers would vary. Let’s ask the mother lost her child in 2013, about how her grief tore at her soul every day of the year. How sometimes the smallest task seemed like a mountain she had to climb.

Or perhaps we should ask the mother that entered the 2013 year with a baby in her womb, and exited the year with small little replica of herself that has taught her a love unlike she has ever known. How looking at that sweet little face everyday makes her want to be a infant better person.

Maybe we should ask the widow of the fallen soldier who gave his life so that we could all experience freedom every day. About how she cries into her pillow every night with longing of feeling the strong arms of her true love to hold her just one more time, but at the same time holds a pride in her heart for her fallen hero who gave his life for a purpose.

Or even the elderly lady whose love of her life has gone on before her and she spends every day waiting on the day she will be reunited with him for eternity.

But last, the year of 2013 as seen through the eyes of a child who is full of life and hope for a better world. Who wakes up every day with a sparkle in her eye and a spring in her step of the endless possibilities of a bright future, of how one day she is going to be a doctor, lawyer, or maybe even a political leader who can make a difference in the world. These are our children of tomorrow…

So, say a prayer in your heart for all people in all the walks of life who are battling their own demons every day in hopes  new-year-2014that 2014 will be that defining year when it will all fall into place for them. Yes, I know this world is crazy and we are probably near the end of time, but if nothing else we are one year closer to the end of Obama’s reign of destruction on this nation. That alone should put a smile on your face. Happy New Year to you and yours! May your new year be joyful and prosperous in every sense of the word.

Leave a comment